The iconic parliament building for the Northern Ireland Assembly. Free tours are available.
Opened in 1932 by Edward, Prince of Wales, the parliament building was built to house the government for the Northern Ireland Home Rule Region created in 1920. Until the building was completed, the parliament met in alternative accommodation in central Belfast.
The building is 365 fett long, one foot for each day of the year. It has six floors and six columns at the entrance. One for each of the six counties in Northern Ireland.
During World War II, the chamber of the building was used by the Royal Air Force as an operations and control centre.
The building was used for the Parliament of Northern Ireland until the parliament was dissolved in 1972.
Since 1972 it has been used, on and off, as the centre of government in Northern Ireland.